Saving custom calendars

  • Updated

Additional information is available to FareHarbor employees.

Custom calendars save your preferred Bookings filters and display options so you can quickly switch between different calendar views. You can create filtered views to suit specific needs, such as creating a custom calendar that only shows availabilities for certain items or resources. This page explains how to create, access, edit, reorder, and set default custom calendars.

By default, the Bookings calendar displays every item in your account, including new items as you create them. Unlike saved custom calendars, you don't need to update the calendar after creating a new item. After you create your first custom calendar, the All items (No filters) option becomes available so you can return to this default view at any time.

Create a custom calendar

Create a custom calendar to save your preferred filter and display settings for future use. Once saved, you can quickly switch to that view from the Custom calendars menu.

To create a custom calendar:

  1. Navigate to Bookings.
  2. Configure your preferred settings using the Filter and Display options menus.
  3. Open the Custom calendars menu.
  4. Select New custom calendar.
  5. Enter a name.
  6. Click Create.

The new calendar is added to your list and becomes available whenever you open the Custom calendars menu.

If you want to display every item in your account, select All items (No filters) instead of creating a custom calendar that includes all items. All items (No filters) will automatically include new items as they're created, but a custom calendar will not.

Access a custom calendar

Access a saved custom calendar to apply its saved filter and display settings. You can also select All items (No filters) to display every current and future item in your account.

To access a custom calendar:

  1. Navigate to Bookings.
  2. Open the Custom calendars menu.
  3. Select one of the following:
    • All items (No filters) to display every current and future item in your account.
    • A saved custom calendar to apply its saved filter and display settings.

If you modify the filters or display options while using a saved custom calendar, the calendar is marked as edited until you save the changes.

Edit a custom calendar

Edit a custom calendar whenever you want to update its saved name, filters, or display options. For example: After creating a new item, you can update the calendar's filters so the item appears in that saved view.
 

 

To edit a custom calendar:

  1. Navigate to Bookings.
  2. Open the Custom calendars menu.
  3. Click the Edit icon next to the calendar.
  4. Update the calendar name, filters, or display options as needed. If you've created a new item and want it to appear in this custom calendar, open Filter > Items, then select the item.
  5. Select Update to current settings on save.
  6. Click Save.

Set a default custom calendar

Set a default custom calendar to automatically open your preferred calendar whenever you access Bookings. You can choose either All items (No filters) or one of your saved custom calendars.

You may want to edit a custom calendar after creating a new item, changing which items should appear in the calendar, or updating its saved display options.

If you've created a new item and want it to appear in a saved custom calendar, update the calendar's Items filter and save your changes.

To set a default custom calendar:

  1. Navigate to Settings > Users & Permissions.
  2. Edit the appropriate user.
  3. Open the Defaults tab.
  4. Select a calendar from Company default calendar.
  5. Click Save changes.

You can select either All items (No filters) or one of your saved custom calendars.

Reorder custom calendars

Reorder your saved custom calendars to organize them in the order you prefer. The new order is reflected the next time you open the Custom calendars menu.

To reorder custom calendars:

  1. Navigate to Bookings.
  2. Open the Custom calendars menu.
  3. Drag a saved custom calendar using the reorder handle.
  4. Drop the calendar into its new position.

The updated order is saved automatically.

The All items (No filters) calendar always remains available as the default calendar option. It is not part of your saved custom calendar list and cannot be reordered.

FAQs & common issues

Why should I use All items (No filters) instead of creating an "all items" custom calendar?

The All items (No filters) calendar automatically displays every current and future item in your account. If you create a new item, it will immediately appear when this option is selected.

Saved custom calendars store a specific set of filter and display settings. If a saved custom calendar filters by selected items, newly-created items won't appear until you update that calendar's saved settings.

Why doesn't my new item appear in my saved custom calendar?

Saved custom calendars remember the filters that were in place when they were last saved. If you've created a new item, edit the custom calendar, add the item to the Items filter, and save your changes.

If you want a view that includes current and newly-created items automatically, use the All items (No filters) calendar instead.