Updating an item's online booking settings

  • Updated

Additional information is available to FareHarbor employees.

In your Dashboard, bookability refers to the online booking status of a particular item or availability. There are several different item settings relating to online bookability. To access these settings:

  1. Go to the Items section of your Dashboard and select an item.
  2. Select Bookability from the options on the left-hand side.

Read more about each option by clicking into the sections below.

Archived, Private, Unlisted settings

These three options are located at the top of the Online Bookability page:

Heads up! Archived and private items cannot be added to booking flows, however unlisted items will be shown to online customers when viewing the flow on your website. Additionally, archived and private items previously added to your booking flows will not be visible to your online customers.

Online bookability options

Archived item

When an item is archived, it will be hidden from your Dashboard and no longer bookable. However, it will still be visible in reports, allowing you to accurately track any previous bookings or sales. Learn more about archiving items.

Private item

This checkbox determines whether or not the item can be viewed and booked online. When an item is private, it is not visible to online customers. However, users logged into your company’s FareHarbor Dashboard can still view and book the item.

Unlisted

When an item is marked as unlisted, it will not be displayed publicly on your website, but can still be viewed and booked by people who have a direct link. This is helpful, for instance, for private tours where you only want a specific group of people to have access to the item.

You can also make individual availabilities unlisted. Learn more here.

Booking Restrictions

Booking restrictions are a set of rules determining how an item can be booked online. These settings include minimum and maximum party sizes, auto-close times, and custom “call to book” messaging.

If you have booking restrictions set up in your main Dashboard settings, you will see a dropdown menu allowing you to choose an already-existing set of restrictions. Or, if you prefer, you can customize booking restrictions for an individual item by selecting Custom settings and adjusting the settings as needed.

Learn more about booking restrictions.

Booking restrictions

Online Calendars

These settings apply to the availability calendars your customers can see on your website.

Number of seats left

By default, your online calendars will display a message alerting online customers when there are only 3 spots left for a particular time. Here, you can adjust when this countdown should start.

Seats left countdown

Group same-day availabilities on calendars

If you have more than one availability for an item per day, you can choose to group these availabilities together so they don’t take up as much space on your calendar of availability. This is especially helpful if you’re displaying several different items on one calendar.

Grouped availabilities will have a 3-line icon next to the item name.

Grouped availabilities on an online calendar

When a user selects the item, they’ll be taken to a page where they can select their desired time. From there, they’ll proceed with the standard booking process.

Choosing a start time

Note: By default, this setting also groups availabilities inside your Dashboard. You can customize which items are grouped on your Dashboard calendars by using the custom item grouping option. Learn more about calendar display options.

Online Payments

If desired, you can require credit card information from online customers when the booking total is $0 for an item.

This is often used when offering a Groupon deal or an item that is included on a tourist pass. If a customer enters a promo code or selects a ticket type that makes their booking total $0, you may want to have their credit card on file in the rare event you need to charge them for damages or no-shows.