Adding, assigning, and removing roles

  • Updated

Roles can be used to keep track of staff responsibilities and assignments in your Dashboard. For example, a boat tour may have roles like captain and tour guide, which you can assign to your crew members when adding them to an availability. You can define your roles however you’d like.

Watch a short video or click into the sections below to learn how to create, assign, and remove roles.

Creating a new role

New roles are created and managed through the Crew menu. Once created, they will appear as options for all availabilities.

To create a role:

  1. Open an availability from the Bookings or Manifest section.
  2. Click on the Crew menu (person icon).
  3. Click Add crew member.
  4. Click Manage roles at the bottom of the menu:

    Manage roles link

  5. Type the desired role name in the Role name box.
  6. Click Add.

    Adding a role

  7. Add additional roles as needed.
  8. Click Crew to return to the crew menu.

Assigning a role to a crew member

When adding a crew member to one or more availabilities, you are given the option to assign a role to that crew member at the same time.

See Adding and removing crew to learn how to do this.

Updating a role for a single availability

If you need to assign or change an existing crew member’s role for a specific date and time on your calendar, you can do so by following these steps:

  1. Open the availability and click on the Crew menu.
  2. Click the Edit icon next to the crew member.
  3. Select the desired role from the dropdown below the crew member’s name. If there is already a role assigned, click the red X to choose a different role.
  4. Optional: Add a note.
  5. Click Save.

    Updating role

Once saved, you will see the assigned role name next to the crew member. If the crew member is subscribed to crew email notifications, you will see a note that he or she will be notified via email about their role assignment. Learn more about email notifications.

Updating a role for multiple availabilities at once

When working with multiple availabilities, the easiest way to update roles is to remove and re-add crew with their new role assignment. See Adding and removing crew to learn how to do this.

Removing a role from your Dashboard

If you no longer need a role, you can remove it from the list of available roles using the Crew menu.

To remove a role:

  1. Open an availability from the Bookings or Manifest section.
  2. Click on the Crew menu (look for the person icon).
  3. Click Add crew member.
  4. Click Manage roles at the bottom of the menu.
  5. Click the Edit icon next to the role you wish to remove.
  6. Click the Delete button.

    Remove role

  7. A popup will appear asking you to confirm. Click OK.

Who can update crew roles?

By default, anyone who is an Admin, Owner, Director, or Manager can create and edit crew roles. Learn more about permission groups.