Archive resources

  • Updated

Additional information is available to FareHarbor employees.

Archiving hides unused resources while preserving their historical information. This helps keep your active resource list organized without affecting previous bookings or reporting.

Archived resources:

  • Can't be added to new resource requirements or future availabilities.
  • Don't affect bookings that were made before the resource was archived.
  • Continue to function for any active resource requirements that already reference them.

Archive a resource

Archive resources from the resource's Settings page.

To archive a resource:

  1. Navigate to Settings > Resources.
  2. Select the resource you want to archive.
  3. Open Settings.
  4. In Advanced settings, select Archive.
  5. Select Save.

After the resource is archived, it won't be available for new resource assignments, but its historical usage remains available throughout the Dashboard.

View archived resources

Archived resources are hidden from the Resources list by default.

To show archived resources:

  1. Navigate to Settings > Resources.
  2. Select View settings.
  3. Enable the Show archived filter.

Archived resources appear in the Resources list with an archive icon.

Restore a resource

You can restore an archived resource whenever it becomes operational again.

To restore a resource:

  1. Navigate to Settings > Resources.
  2. If necessary, enable the Show archived filter from View settings.
  3. Open the archived resource.
  4. Select Settings.
  5. Clear the Archive checkbox in Advanced settings.
  6. Select Save.

The resource is immediately available for future resource requirements and bookings.

Auto-archive

Some accounts support automatically archiving inactive resources.

When auto-archive is enabled, FareHarbor checks for eligible resources every week and archives any that meet the inactivity requirements. Auto-archived resources are recorded in Settings > Recent Activity.

Criteria for auto-archive

A resource is eligible for auto-archive only if it meets all of the following conditions:

  • It hasn't been created or modified within the configured inactivity window (365 days by default).
  • It isn't associated with a resource requirement that has been modified within the configured inactivity window.
  • It hasn't been used by any past bookings within the configured inactivity window.
  • It isn't being used for any future availabilities.

Customize the inactivity window

By default, resources become eligible for auto-archive after 365 days of inactivity.

Prerequisite: You must have the Edit Dashboard features, company contact info, and FareHarbor profile permission to update these settings.

To change the inactivity window:

  1. Navigate to Settings.
  2. Open Advanced company settings.
  3. Search for Auto-archive resources, or navigate to the Performance section.
  4. Update Days of inactivity before auto-archiving.
  5. Select Save changes.

Disable auto-archive

Prerequisite: You must have the Edit Dashboard features, company contact info, and FareHarbor profile permission to update these settings.

To disable auto-archive:

  1. Navigate to Settings.
  2. Open Advanced company settings.
  3. Search for Auto-archive resources, or navigate to the Performance section.
  4. Clear the Auto-archive resources checkbox.
  5. Select Save changes.

Reporting with archived resources

Archived resources remain available in reports so historical booking information stays accurate.

By default:

  • Archived resources are included when reports are grouped by Customer Resource.
  • Archived resources are identified with an (archived) label.
  • Archived resources remain available as reporting filter values.

To exclude archived resources from an advanced report, use the Customer Resource Use or Resource Use filter to select the resources you want to include.

Important notes

Keep the following behaviors in mind when working with archived resources:

  • Archived resources remain hidden throughout most of the Dashboard unless they're still in use. When they're displayed, they're identified with an (archived) label.
  • Archived resources are hidden in the Manifest by default. To display them, update the Shared resources column settings and enable Show all possible resources.
  • If you edit a resource requirement group that contains an archived resource and replace it with another resource, you can't reselect the archived resource from the resource list.

FAQs

Does archiving affect existing bookings?

No. Archiving doesn't affect bookings that were created before the resource was archived. Existing resource assignments continue to function normally.

Can I restore an archived resource?

Yes. Restoring the resource makes it available again for future resource requirements and bookings.

Will archived resources still appear in reports?

Yes. Archived resources remain available for reporting and are identified with an (archived) label when appropriate.

How often does auto-archive run?

If auto-archive is enabled, FareHarbor checks for eligible resources every week.